Here's my take on the election coming up in 2012. I think it's going to come down to Romney and Obama. Here's why: 1. The New Hampshire Primary election. By New Hampshire law, they have the first primary elections in the country. In New Hampshire they allow voters who have not declared their party affiliation to vote in any primary election. This means that even though a person votes traditionally as a democrat, if they have not declared they are a democrat, they can vote in the republican primary and republican leaning voters can vote in the democrat primary. This produces the incentive to vote for the other side's perceived worst candidate. The one the most people on the other side would hate or who would have a the toughest time in a national campaign.
The democrats did this with John McCain in the 2008 election year. Republicans did this back to them by....oh, wait...the republicans aren't tricky enough to do it back to the dems. In the interest of full disclosure, I'm a registered republican, but only because the Constitution Party hasn't gathered enough steam, yet to produce a viable candidate, but I digress.
2. The other reason Romney will win in the primary election is what's called a "committeeman". A "committeman" is: according to Websters, "the leader of a political ward or precinct". Which means (the short version) the person who gets to pick the candidates who will appear on the ballot. For a more complete explanation, check out eagleforum.org and do a search (I can't do everything for you!). If you are wondering why it's been difficult to nearly impossible to get a great conservative candidate on the ballot, blame the committeemen! Traditionally, there have been far more liberals than conservatives in these very important positions. Unless the tea party has been able to place enough conservatives in committeemen positions, we will be stuck with yet another RINO.
3. Romney made a deal with RNC last election and with McCain. It basically went like this: "I'll release my delegates this time, then next election will be my turn to be the candidate." (Playground politics....same thing happens in Kindergarten all the time.)
Having said all that, I actually like Mitt Romney. I saw what his leadership did for the Olympics in Salt Lake City. He's a nice man, with a nice family. I still think he's a RINO, but I believe he would govern as a RINO light. At least he doesn't hate us all, just for being Americans.
No comments:
Post a Comment